The cabinet mission plan laid down the idea to make a constitution for the country people. The constituent assembly elected by legislative assemblies of provinces for this purpose.

According to the population of each province, the seats allotted to the states in the constituent assembly. The seat is distributed among the main communities of India i.e., Sikh, Muslim and other general categories.

The total number of members constituted constituent assembly is 385 out of which 93 from Indian states and 292 from British Indian provinces. But after the partition, the number reduced to 299 out of which 284 attended the constituent assembly on 26 November 1949 and signed the final draft of the constitution.

The first meeting of the undivided constituent assembly took place on December 9, 1946, and after as sovereign constitutional assembly meeting took place on August 14, 1947.

The constituent assembly took 2 years, 11 months and 18 days in preparing the final draft of the constitution.

Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru presented an objective resolution in the first session on 13 December 1946 of the constituent assembly which was passed after debate on 22 January 1947.

The drafting committee was appointed by the constituent assembly which was headed by Dr B R Ambedkar. Constitutional advisor B N Rao prepared the text draft of the constitution which was scrutinized by drafting committee members.

The Drafting committee consists of N Gopalaswamy Ayyangar, Alladi Krishnaswamy ayyar, Dr munshi, Syed Saadullah, Madahav Rao, krishnamachari.

The final reading of the constitution was completed on 26 November 1949. After the signature of the president, the constitution has taken as passed.

Hence 26 November, 1949 was celebrated as CONSTITUTION DAY OF INDIA.

Leave a Comment

× Need legal help?